Saturday Songs – 11.15.08

A blog I frequently visit does a feature called “Music Monday.”  I thought it was a good idea.  In the interest of pretending that I have some semblance of an original thought in my head, I will do Saturday Songs.  This is not necessarily Christian music.  Sometimes it will be Christian, sometimes it will be songs that contain traces of the Gospel, sometimes it’s just stuff I like.  If you come here for the writing, I appreciate it.  Don’t feel obliged to watch the videos.  I’m just trying to add a little different dimension to the blog.

With that out of the way, here’s some stuff I think will make you a better person for having heard…

Joe Pug – “Hymn 101” – Joe is everything good about Bob Dylan with none of the bad.  One of the most amazing songwriters I’ve ever heard…

Boards of Canada – “Deep Sea” – Some ambient music coupled with old educational films…

The Avett Brothers – “Shame” – Good ol’ honest North Carolina folk music.  If this doesn’t tug at your heart, you probably need to check to see if you have one…

My Morning Jacket – “Touch Me I’m Going to Scream Pt. 2” – Great video, and amazing song.  Saw these guys at the House of Blues in Myrtle Beach.  Next to the Flaming Lips, the best show I’ve ever seen…

The Flaming Lips – “Race for the Prize (live in Oklahoma)” – One of the most exuberant concert experiences you will ever have.  Wayne’s voice doesn’t usually hold up too well live, but he more than makes up for it with stage presence….

About Andrew

The Universe is Round. View all posts by Andrew

Leave a Reply

