Nietzsche, Jesus, and fishing for pigs with pearls…

piercedfaceI just read a post on a friend’s blog that made me step back and wonder.  The post was a short recounting of a dream.  My friend dreamed he was standing with Jesus on the shore as He called out to the disciples to cast their nets on the other side.  My friend awoke with the understanding that often we are fishing with our nets on the wrong side of the boat.

This post coincided with the culmination of a 3 week long “discussion” I’ve been having with an atheist I met online.  My atheist friend enjoys posting plagiarized quotes (no quotation marks nor credits) to as many Christian YouTube videos as he can.  I took the bait several weeks ago.  I began writing comments addressing the inconsistencies, the fallacies, and the misunderstandings in his posts.  His responses were abusive, personal attacks, or more plagiarized copy/paste comments.  As I read my friend’s blog entry about fishing with our nets on the wrong side, I saw myself clearly as if for the first time.

It is painfully obvious that my atheist friend has zero interest in a real conversation.  Yet I continue to answer his abusive comments.  I had convinced myself that I was posting retorts to his comments in the hopes that he or one of his readers might read the response and come around.  I have finally realized that what really has been happening is an ego clash.  It has been a contest of wits (and one not unlike beating my 11 month old son at basketball).  I have, at least in part, been posting responses to him because I want to be right, not because I want him to have right understanding.  It is becoming clear to me the principal that my father so wisely tried to teach me.  If the devil can’t get you to do the wrong thing, he’ll get you to do the right thing in the wrong way.

I ask any of God’s children who read this, please pray for a confused and angry man who calls himself “TeslaSagan.”  And pray for me, I’m a sinner.

“There they stand…there they laugh. They do not understand me. I am not the mouth for these ears…” – Nietzsche’s Zarathustra.

“Do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do they may trample them under their feet, and then turn and tear you to pieces.” – Jesus Christ

(note: The above sketch is from my journal.  It is what it looks like when I mistake my need for right-ness  with my need for righteousness.)

About Andrew

The Universe is Round. View all posts by Andrew

2 responses to “Nietzsche, Jesus, and fishing for pigs with pearls…

  • Archie

    Great thoughts. Ah yes… the deceiver…. Be encouraged. Jesus is coming again! Wahoo!

  • Romanós

    I have watched many a young Christian man go through what you have just described and so honestly and accurately assessed, starting with myself in my own youth—the need to be right, to have the victory in the debate. That need is okay, I suppose, on the debating team, but in the work of Christ which He does in us when we witness for Him, it has absolutely no part. Luckily for us, most of us anyway, we sooner or later realise that it is simply “the clash of the titans” in us and our opponents. Oddly, when you look at Jesus, you NEVER see Him doing this. What DO you see Him doing in the case of people who do wrong, whether in act or thought or desire? He corrects them, if they repent He forgives them, but He never argues, He only testifies. That’s how it has to be with us, because we follow Jesus, and try to do only what we see Him doing. That’s why we come to our senses so quickly and with a blush. If we don’t keep our eyes on Him going before us, and get wrapped up in our own heads, we forget to look up (αναβλεπειν > anavlépein > to look up, to receive [our] sight), and end up bumping into Him from behind! Forgive us, Lord!

    This is what I learned from Dietrich Bonhoeffer, that we cannot try be strong where the Word chooses to be weak. We cannot force the Word on people. The Word of God, Jesus Christ, can’t be shoved into their hearts; they have to receive Him, they have to receive His Word because they want it. Though He is the Almighty, the Pantokrator, He humbled Himself to the condition of a slave, and so as the Word, He lets Himself be rebuffed and rejected by men who are imprisoned in their weaknesses. We cannot be strong where the Word wants to be weak. I know for some this may seem wrong thinking, because they can’t imagine the Word being weak, but I had to learn this through experience, and I suppose that’s the only way to be sure.

    When my younger Christian friends discover such things as you have described, and confess them to me, or write about them as you have, all I can do is rejoice and thank the Lord, as Paul does in his epistles, and be so happy for them. Thankful for the faithful Spirit of God, the Holy, making disciples of you all. There is nothing more beautiful in all the world than a disciple of Jesus Christ, and to catch even a glimpse of one as he or she passes by, is worth more than all the praise and good things the world can give.

    God bless you, Andrew. Axios!

Leave a Reply

