When the Shades Get Thrown Back…

img_1688

When the shades get thrown back
I don’t want to be a shadow…

Though all I’ve ever known has been
the sneaky gray creature,
the darkness cast when that light
shines on my ego.

When the shades get thrown back
I don’t want to be a shadow…

Still, what I see when I look at me
Is a once longer shadow…
But it’s getting nearer to noon,

And when the shades get thrown back
I don’t want to be a shadow…

So we chisel and file,
And I crawl
Inch
by
mile…
While I shudder and cry,
While I watch it all die…
But it’s nothing to grieve
What was “me” wasn’t Me,

And when the shades get thrown back
I will not be a shadow!

About Andrew

The Universe is Round. View all posts by Andrew

One response to “When the Shades Get Thrown Back…

Leave a Reply

